Finding Your Style

Fashion is one of the ultimate forms of self-expression. You can say so much about yourself through your clothing. Our appearance can communicate a myriad of different things about how we view ourselves, our personality, what we like to do, and what we value. However, it can be difficult to form your own unique personal style. I have always admired women who have their own signature style. It makes me feel like they know exactly who they are and that they love themselves on a deep level. Not only do I admire it, I want it. But finding your own personal style isn’t exactly easy.

I’d be lying to you if I said everything in my closet is a reflection of who I am. Honestly it doesn’t even reflect who I used to be or who I want to be. I’m working on that. I think that the best wardrobes are ones that reflect our best selves, the woman we want to be, the woman you dream of becoming. Clothing and accessories are wonderful in the fact that we can use them as tools to express whatever we want to the world. From the high school student who dresses all in black to the wall street maven who lives in power suits. Our clothing communicates, and the best part is that we get to choose what the message is.

I am still working on finding my own signature style, and yours should not match mine. Everyone is an individual and your clothing should reflect what is special about you. Given that, here are some of my tips for discovering your style so that one day you will (hopefully) love everything in your closet.

  • Make sure your clothing reflects your lifestyle. Do you spend all day in a corporate office? Or do you work from your couch? If your clothing doesn’t fit your activities you won’t use it and that’s just sad.
  • Make sure every item you buy makes you feel wonderful. You should LOVE everything you wear. You don’t need a wardrobe crammed full of clothes you think are okay, but instead invest in fewer pieces that you love. If you look good, are comfortable, and feel confident when you put on your clothes each morning nobody will care that you wore that shirt last week.
  • Don’t try to fit into a category. If you like boho loungewear and power-suits structure your wardrobe around both of those styles. My suggestion is to decide what you want to portray about yourself in each situation you encounter regularly (work, gym, grocery shopping, laying around the house, partying with friend, etc) and purchase your clothes around that ideal.
  • Choose a color pallet. Most likely you gravitate to a handful of colors that you feel look best on you. Embrace that. If you have a color pallet you can mix and match fewer pieces to create more outfits.
  • Look for inspiration. One of my favorite pastimes is tearing ads for clothing I like out of magazines. Then before I go shopping I flip through them for inspiration. It helps me decide what I want and what I like.
  • Know your body type. Figure out what looks good on you. If you like how pencil skirts look on models that doesn’t mean you’ll like them on yourself. Have a list of go-to brands and cuts that work for you. You’ll feel more confident if your clothes fit your body – trying to make your body fit someone else’s clothes is a waste of time.
  • Have fun. At the end of the day you should enjoy fashion, don’t worry about rules or what other people think. If you feel good you’ll look good.
One thought on “Finding Your Style

  1. You are so awesome! I don’t suppose I have read through a
    single thing like that before. So good to discover someone with some genuine thoughts on this issue.
    Really.. thanks for starting this up. This site is something that
    is needed on the web, someone with some originality!

Leave a Reply

