How I Lost 10 Pounds Without Exercise

So this summer I set out to get back to a healthy weight. Unfortunately, I hate exercising and love food. So I knew that any plan I undertook was going to have to be special. But I made one, and it worked. I never felt hungry, never got sick of it, and actually enjoyed the whole process. Best part (in my opinion) was that I never once set foot in a gym or even put on workout clothes.

So how did I do it?

I used MyFitnessPal to log all of my calories and set it up to track the number of steps I walk each day. I walk to work so I averaged about 5000 steps a day and that was all the exercise I did. I gave myself 1000 calories to eat during the week and 12000 on the weekend when I would normally go out with friends.

Here’s what I ate and when I ate it:

Breakfast, 9am (I feel sick if I eat within an hour of waking up so I waited until I got hungry which was normally around this time) – Chobani Flip Yogurts, I particularly liked the Key Lime with Grahm Crackers and White Chocolate Chips.

Lunch, noonish – LUNCHABLES! Haha, yes, I felt like I was in elementary school again but that made the process fun. I tried to get the packs that are under 300 calories, and I would enjoy all of it even the cookies. (I did not buy the ones with drinks because I was trying to not drink my calories).

Afternoon snack, 3pm – 100 Calorie pack of Pringles. It was awesomely salty and surprisingly satisfying.

Dinner, 6pm – Lean Cuisine, I am normally exhausted after work and cooking for one is tedious so I’d pop one in the microwave and chow down. My friends and I would even have nights where we’d each bring our favorite microwave meal and eat together – which was really silly and fun.

Evening snack, 8pm – 100 calorie bag of buttered popcorn, I normally watch TV after dinner so popcorn seemed like the natural choice.

Drinks – Diet Dr. Pepper (2 cans a day) and water with zero calorie flavoring like MIOs. I made sure to drink at least 8 glasses of water a day, and most days it was closer to 12.

So, I know this is all processed food and a lot of people will cringe at that. But it worked. I never felt deprived and my diet rounded out to about 50% carbohydrates, 30% protein and 20% fat. Now that school is starting again I’ll be adding in some ballet barre classes and increasing my calorie intake from 1000 to 1200, but I plan on continuing to eat in the same way until I reach my goal weight.

Obviously, this plan may not work for you and you should consult your doctor before starting any type of diet program. 

Leave a Reply

