Summer Sides – Potato Salad

My relationship with potato salad is complicated. I’m an extremely picky eater, and for most of my life the only potatoes I liked were French Fries and Pringles. However, that all changed this past 4th of July when I got my first taste of Honeybaked Ham’s Potato Salad Side Dish. It was WONDERFUL! I want it right now. Unfortunately, there’s not a Honeybaked in my college town, and I’ve been unable to find a copycat recipe 😦 however, I have discovered some recipes that I enjoy almost as much. 

The specific recipe I’m going to share with you today comes from Kaitlyn at One Good Thing. It is a family recipe that the ladies at One Good Thing consider to be The World’s Best Potato Salad, and I’ll agree, it’s delicious. 

Ingredients:

  • 6-8 white rose or red potatoes
  • 6 hard-boiled eggs
  • 2 tablespoons green onions
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon yellow mustard

Directions:

  1. Boil the potatoes until they are just soft – you don’t want them to be too mushy.
  2. Let them cool, then peel them and cut them into bite-sized pieces.
  3. Hard boil the eggs, let cool, then dice.
  4. Chop the green onions.
  5. Mix the potatoes, eggs, onions, salt and pepper in a bowl. Chill in the fridge until just before you’re ready to serve.
  6. Right before you serve the salad, mix together the mayonnaise, sour cream and yellow mustard and fold into the potatoes. I like to add about 1/3 at a time until it’s just the right amount.

While this is a bit more time consuming than the recipes I like to post, it’s totally worth it. If you like you can prepare it up to step 5 the night before. And now you have a recipe for your next neighborhood BBQ!

Leave a Reply

