Acne Solutions

When we think of acne most of us probably envision some version of our teenage selves debating whether or not to buy Proactive. If only acne stopped in our teen years. Adult acne is a common issue, one that I thought I had avoided. Recently some hormonal changes have caused my skin to rebel against me. For years I was complimented on the clarity of my skin. I took pride in having radiant, smooth skin that didn’t require any concealer. Well, those days are over. My face has become a war zone. However, I can win this battle and eventually the war against acne and reclaim my celebrated clarity.

Today I’m going to share 4 different regimens that have helped both me and my friends get control of our skin.

Proactiv+

When people mention proactiv you probably think of how so many of your friends used their products in high school, but you found they irritated your skin to no end. Well, the doctors behind the brand have developed this gentler solution. The line includes the Skin Smoothing Exfoliator, Pore Targeting Treatment, and Complexion Perfecting Hydrator. One of the women I work with swears by this regimen and says it has helped eliminate her cystic acne and monthly breakouts. The line features Antimicrobial Benzoyl Peroxide and Salicylic Acid, which are the very best when it comes to clearing up skin. I recommend this for people who got a bit too dried out on the original Proactive, but did see it make a difference.

Obagi Clenziderm

What’s nice about this system is that they have options for both oily and dry skin, since both can be acne prone. I used the cleanser and toner for two years and saw a huge difference in my skin’s texture, unfortunately I then tried adding the treatment gel and discovered I’m allergic to Benzoyl Perozide. I had to completely quit the regimen until I heeled, and began using Clinique 3-step products instead. However, this is one of the best lines out there and is my top recommendation for anyone who is NOT allergic to its ingredients.

Rodan & Fields Unblemish

Now, I’ve never used their products but two of my best friends do and their skin went from bad to the best I’ve ever seen. The system includes the Acne Treatment Sulfur Wash, Spot Fading or Clarifying Toner, Dual Intensive Acne Treatment, and Oil Control Lotion. You can order the system through one of their representatives, and they offer an automatic refill service subscription that will refresh your supply every couple of months.

If you need a consultant, let me know in the comments and I’ll put you in touch with one. (They’ll help you get discount prices –  totally worth it.)

The Body Shop Tea Tree

This product line has been my saving grace. Within 24 hours of first using the regimen, I saw a major difference in my skin. Redness and inflamation was reduced, acne spots faded, and pimples shrunk overnight. One of my favorite things, being a product junkie, is the sheer range of products they offer. The regimen includes:

  • Tea Tree Oil
  • Skin Clearing Facial Wash (they also have a travel size!)
  • Blemish Fade Night Lotion
  • Skin Clearing Toner
  • Squeaky Clean Scrub
  • Skin Clearing Lotion
  • Skin Clearing Foaming Cleanser
  • Blemish Gel
  • Cleansing Wipes
  • Body Wash
  • Face Mask
  • Cool and Creamy Wash
  • Pore Minimizer
  • Concealer
  • BB Cream

What else could you possibly need? Now I use the scrub, cleanser, toner, both lotions, oil, and mask and I want to add the other products. This is THE BEST acne clearing product I’ve ever used. Plus, it’s inexpensive, cruelty-free, and contains natural ingredients. You really can’t ask for much more.

Do you know any other ways to combat acne? Share your tips/tricks in the comment section!