No Makeup?

I’ll admit it, I LOVE primping. I can easily spend two or three hours in front of my bathroom mirror doing my hair and makeup. I love smokey eyes, cat eyes, red lips, and complex updos. It’s not a bad thing. There’s a time and a place for all of these things, and I’ll make time if I’m going to the right place. However, on a day-to-day basis I prefer to opt for a more natural look. There are many people who think that spending time on your makeup and hair is vain, and who are afraid of their own beauty. There are still more people who enjoy their beauty and wish to accentuate it, but don’t know how to go about it.

Every woman is beautiful, and every woman deserves to feel that way. If you feel most beautiful makeup free – go for it. If you’re like me and like to accentuate your natural beauty, keep on reading.

The key to makeup is to make it look like you aren’t wearing any. This phrase was repeated over, and over, and over by my mother when I first began wearing makeup. It wasn’t until I got to college that I finally understood what she meant. Recently, there’s been a tendency towards natural-looking makeup on the runways and in the hallways. I am always wanting to try new makeup looks, so when this one came around I had to try it! Here’s what I learned in my quest to look as natural as the girl in this photo:

natural beauty

When you look at her, you see her beauty, but you also see her. It’s simple to do if you have the right products and tools.

Step 1: Prep your canvas

Possibly the most important thing when creating a natural makeup look is to make your skin look as good as possible. I like to start with a primer (Smashbox Photo Finish is the best in my opinion), then a thin layer of tinted moisturizer on areas of my face that tend to get red and/or need to be evened out. Be sure you get color matched when you buy your makeup, Sephora associates have a handy device that will match your skin tone exactly to all of the foundations they carry so be sure to ask for help. Once my skin tone is even I’ll put some concealer on any acne or dark circles I may have, and then dust a small amount of translucent powder over my entire face to keep everything in place.

Step 2: Cheeks

For your cheeks choose a blush or bronzer that is the same color as your natural flush. To figure out what this color is you can pinch one of your cheeks. You can use cream or powder blush – powder looks a little more “finished” while cream looks more playful. The rule for application is no further in than the center of your pupil, and no further down than the tip of your nose. Be sure to blend the blush really well so that you can’t see where it starts/stops.

Step 3: Eyes

Natural eye makeup is probably the hardest thing to do, primarily because everyone disagrees on what looks natural. My routine includes two eyeshadow colors. The first is a light matte pink (almost white) eye crayon that I place directly under my eyebrow and blend until it looks like a subtle highlight. I’ll also blend a touch of this color into the inner corner of my eye. The second color is a very light tan that is just a shade darker than my skintone. This color I brush over my eyelid from lash to crease. I have this color in both a matte and a shimmer version and alternate between them both depending on my mood. I then coat my lashes in a dark brown mascara that’s just slightly darker than my eyebrows.

Step 4: Brows

You eyebrows frame your entire face. Be sure you keep them shaped (more on how to do this in a future post) and tidy. I always like to emphasize my brows with a brow pencil that matches their natural color – do NOT go too dark. I just color lightly over my brows until they look full, but not painted on. If you don’t want to add any emphasis to your brows you can skip this part. Either way, spray a bit of hairspray on an eyebrow brush and brush the hairs into place so that they’ll stay all day and won’t end up looking funky by 2pm.

Step 4: Lips

For the final step, find your go to lip color. To do this, bite your lips until they’re slightly flushed. Then buy lipstick, stain, balm and gloss in this color. My personal shade favorite is the Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment in Petal. The goal is to have a color that is slightly darker than your natural (unbitten) lip color. Wear whichever formula of the color you prefer – lipstick looks the most polished, stain lasts the longest, balm looks the most natural, and gloss looks the most youthful.

Voila! That’s it. You now have all you need to look naturally fresh-faced and ready to take on the world. Plus, nobody will know you didn’t roll out of bed this way 😉

Leave a Reply

